Advisory Council

The Advisory Council consists of 14 members, including representatives of relevant UN entities, academic institutions, business, and civil society groups. The term of the membership of the Advisory Council is for one year, renewable annually, depending on the future thematic focus of the Grant. The Council meetings will be chaired by the Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs.

The Advisory Council is established to identify the criteria, as well as modalities, for the submission, review and selection processes in relation to the Grant. It will meet twice during its one-year term, to review and vote on applications.

The Advisory Council members review the applications received and recommend a short list of institutions/individuals for Grant consideration and decision by the High-level Steering Committee.

Dr. Nawal Al-Hosany (United Arab Emirates)

Director of Sustainability at Masdar

Prof. Dr. Milica Bajić-Brković (Serbia)

Former President of ISOCARP, Member of the Executive Committee of ISOCARP

Mr. Mark Fulton (United Kingdom)

Founding Partner, Energy Transition Advisors Pty Ltd

Mr. Zhang Guobao (China)

Former Director of China's National Energy Administration

Mr. John Hofmeister (USA)

Founder and Chief Executive, Citizens for Affordable Energy, Washington, D.C.; Former President Shell Oil Company, Texas

Dr. Ken Koyama (Japan)

Chief Economist and Managing Director at the Institute of Energy Economics in Japan (IEEJ)

Mr. Christopher Martenson (USA)

Economic Researcher, Writer and Trend Forecaster; Cofounder of

Ms. Marie-José Nadeau (Canada)

Chair of the World Energy Council

Mr. Thanin Pa-Em (Thailand)

Deputy Secretary-General, Office of the National Economic and Social Development Board

Ms. Maria Van der Hoeven (France)

Former Executive Director of the International Energy Agency (IEA), Senior Associate Fellow, Ciep Clingendael

Mr. José Manuel Viegas (Portugal)

Secretary-General of the International Transport Forum (ITF) at the OECD

Mr. Sun Xiansheng (China)

Secretary General of the International Energy Forum (IEF) Former President of China National Petroleum Corporation

Copyright United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs | Terms of use