2015 Recipients

For its first award, the UN-DESA Energy Grant received over 200 applications. The winner was selected through a rigorous review and objective assessment of these applications, undertaken in multiple stages, guided by an Advisory Council and a High-level Steering Committee.
We Care Solar

Winner of the 2015 Grant


Winner of a Special Award

Build Your Dream (BYD)

Winner of a Special Recognition

Winner We Care Solar's Project in Liberia

UN Finance Officer visited We Care Solar's project in Liberia

10 Finalists

Listed below in alphabetical order.
Eco-Fuel Africa
Electricity Regulatory Authority of Uganda
MicroEnergy International
Pact Institute
Self Employed Women's Association, Bharat (SEWA Bharat)
Solar Electric Light Fund (SELF)
Strathmore Energy Research Centre (SERC), Centre for Research in Energy and Energy Conservation (CREEC) and Village Energy
We Care Solar


1st Annual UN-DESA Energy Grant (2015) - Powering the Future We Want
The 12 finalists that reached the top of the evaluation process represent a wide range of sectors, including the public and private sector, non-profit, research centres, women’s associations and micro-finance institutions. This group of 12 finalists is comprised of 11 independent organisations and one 3-way partnership, representing a total of 14 organisations. Each organisation maintains a unique set of expertise, while being bound by the common thread of a desire to increase access to modern energy services in an environmentally sustainable manner throughout the world.
Copyright United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs | Terms of use